Left My Heart in Toronto

About two months prior to spring break, I got stuck in a drained and idle mental state. I just felt uninspired. Lacking inspiration affects me a lot because I live for art and I love to constantly create. This trip to Canada really helped me gather myself together.

In retrospect, visiting Canada was never the plan but it turned out to be one of the best decisions I have made. I never expected to fall head over heals for Toronto. A month after the trip, I still harbour a nostalgic feeling when I come across the photos I took during the trip. I stayed and reunited with two close friends from middle school. They took the time to show me around the city, cook for me (one of them is in culinary school btw how awesome is that?) and even washed dishes. We spent hours talking and reminiscing about the bittersweet four years we had together. I’m eternally grateful to reconnect with them after three years. So thank you, Minh Chu và Nhỏ Bảo for everything. Yêu nhiều nhiều.

Processed with VSCO with c6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a9 presetI am absolutely in love with the interior of Art Gallery of Ontario. I’m always impressed by Frank Gehry’s quirky and dramatic use of shapes.IMG_1629Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

I don’t want to look like a typical tourist but I also cannot leave Toronto without visiting the gorgeous Casa Loma. The beautiful Gothic Revival styled castle captivates me, especially the indoor garden, which looks like a scene from a fairy tale movie.

Processed with VSCO with c7 preset Processed with VSCO with c7 presetThis is literally the most fancy bathroom I’ve ever seen. This is the best chicken waffle I've ever had. We headed to Kensington Market for lunch. I found this small restaurant in the corner of the street with the best chicken waffle ever.

Processed with VSCO with c7 presetWe spent this beautiful sunny day on Toronto Island. Standing on the ferry you can see the city skyline, floating majestically on the glittering water. The breeze was too cold for a walk along the ocean but it was worth every minute.Processed with VSCO with c7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c7 presetProcessed with VSCO with c8 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with e3 presetProcessed with VSCO with e6 presetWe then headed to the art, hipster district of Toronto, Queen Street West, for a nice coffee and bookstore break.Processed with VSCO with c6 presetProcessed with VSCO with c6 presetThis is my favourite corner of my friends’ house. Bao is an architect student and he keeps some of his art supplies here. They also have a record player which I’m obsessed with. My favourite moment is Sunday morning, drinking homemade coffee, listening to Zooey Deschanel warm, raspy voice on their record player. Processed with VSCO with b4 presetJPEG image-4C7FBFA84933-1Processed with VSCO with a8 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

hipsithuria

Leave a Reply

