How I fell in love with Montréal

At the beginning of the year, I wrote down my new year resolution saying that I have to travel to a different country solo at least once. Then Spring break came along with the opportunity. I chose Canada, Toronto and Montréal to be specific (I will write about Toronto and all its glory in a separate post). After a long dreaded process, I finally got my visa to Canada and had the best time of my life so far. Although I only stayed in Montréal for 3 days, I crossed off many of the things in my must-do-before-I-die list. I’m confident to say that I’m in love with the city and I will come back for more.

day1

Try
The first thing I did when I stepped foot in Montréal is climbing up the top of Parc du Mont Royal. It was a very cold and gloomy day. There was some snow residue which made the road extremely slippery so it was a hard hike up, especially while wearing a 4-kg backpack and flat-sole boots. But when I got up there, it was worth every minute. The view over the city was the most beautiful thing I’ve seen in a long time.
They gave me a free drink on International Women's Day. Very cute!
I had the best egg benedict of my life here. Also, they gave me a free drink on International Women’s Day. Very cute!
Since I couldn’t check in until 3PM, I took a bus to the famous Mile End and Mile Ex area to discover some cool stores and galleries. I kept coming back here the whole 3 days I was in Montréal. Mile End definitely is my favourite neighbourhood in the city with so much art and inspiration.

Processed with VSCOcam with c7 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with e3 preset

Mile End has the best stores for vintage shopping. My favourite stores are Citizen Vintage (in the photo) and Annex Vintage. They have amazing finds, cool decorations and most importantly for me, reasonable price.

Some stuff I bought from Citizen Vintage.

try5

Untitled-12

Literally the best hostel I’ve stayed. I love the vibe, love the hip and friendly people, love the booze and the pub crawl. The bathroom, which is always my biggest concern, is very clean. The bed is comfy enough. The location is 3-minute walk away from the metro station. So glad I chose this wonderful place.

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset

try3
I had the best time ever with the people I met at HI-Montreal hostel. The bar crawl was organized by the hostel. It’s amazing how I thought I was going to travel alone but turned out I could make so many friends.

day2

Untitled-2Processed with VSCOcam with e7 presetUntitled-32

“Monastiraki” is my favourite art store/gallery in Montréal. It has a well-curated collection of various styles of art. All the artworks featured are created by local artists. I love the display of the store. The owner is a very nice and welcoming guy. I wanted to buy some stuff but the store doesn’t take American card. The guy felt so bad that he gave me a cute souvenir after I promised that I would come back the next day (and I did).

Processed with VSCOcam with c7 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with e3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetA cool zine I got at Monastiraki.

try4

IMG_1289

day3

I didn’t get to do much my last day because my bus leaves early afternoon so I decided to just walk and discover other beautiful neighbourhoods in the city. Plateau Mont-Royal must be the most beautiful and picturesque place in Montréal. Even on the cloudy day, the colourful, perfectly lined up houses with twirling staircases still stand out.

Processed with VSCOcam with c7 preset

JPEG image-D0EEE160784A-1

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

hipsithuria

2 thoughts on “How I fell in love with Montréal

Leave a Reply

